Skip to content ↓

Knollmead Primary School

Early Years Foundation Stage

The curriculum within the Early Years Foundation Stage is planned around three main themes:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers; and 
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

At Knollmead we base the set up of the environment and activities planned around the children's interests. We ensure that all the characteristics of effective learning are promoted through the teaching and learning on a daily basis. We encourage the children to play and explore, be active learners who are resilient and resourceful at all times. To be creative and think critically, by having their own ideas, making links and choosing their own way of doing things.

The Foundation Stage curriculum is made up of seven areas of learning. There are three prime areas which underpin the four specific areas.

The three prime areas of Learning and Development are Communication and Language, Physical Development, and Personal, Social and Emotional Development.  Skills from these areas are then applied in the four specific areas of Learning and Development of Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World, and Expressive Arts and Design. 

Prime Areas

Communication and Language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical Development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their coordination , control and movement.  Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

Specific Areas

Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children need to be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.

Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

Understanding the World involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive Arts and Design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through as variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

The Learning Journey
  • All the areas of development are important and inter-connected. At Knollmead we recognise children learn through play and first-hand experiences. We use children's interests as a starting point when planning the next steps in learning.
  • We aim to ensure that as much learning takes place outdoors as indoors and offer a curriculum where children discover learning is fun.
  • We also work closely with parents to find out about their children's interests.  We see them as a crucial part of the learning process and encourage them to send in examples of learning experiences their child may have had at home.
How Children Learn

The characteristics of effective learning are central to the Foundation Stage curriculum, as they focus on how children learn.

These are:

  • Playing and exploring; where children develop curiosity, build on what they already know and are confident to try new things,
  • Active learning; where children are motivated, concentrate, keeping on trying and enjoy achieving what they set out to do,
  • Creating and thinking critically; where children have their own ideas, make links in their learning and choose ways to do things.

Please click on the below links for more information.






For further information on the EYFS Curriculum please contact Miss Dean, EYFS Phase Leader at the school address.